About Us

The Coleman Foundation is the legacy of entrepreneurs, Dorothy W. Coleman and her husband, J.D. Stetson Coleman, one-time owners of Fannie May Candy Company. The Colemans created the Foundation in 1951 to improve opportunity and quality of life. Today, the Foundation continues to foster change through programs that are practical, financially sustainable, and results-oriented.

Mission

The Coleman Foundation is a philanthropic organization that leverages its resources by investing in the efforts of community-based organizations and local institutions to preserve and strengthen the physical health and the economic and emotional well-being of people living in and around Chicago.

Vision

The Foundation envisions itself as a thoughtful and active participant helping nonprofit organizations and local institutions in the greater Chicago area to create more equitable and inclusive access to resources and opportunities that improve peoples’ lives. Through its grantmaking, it supports efforts that encourage entrepreneurial thinking and self-improvement for all who strive to overcome barriers.

Purpose

  1. INCREASING PERSONAL EMPOWERMENT, self-determination, and well-being of individuals in Chicago communities

  2. ADVANCING ENTREPRENEURSHIP with an emphasis on low and moderate income neighborhoods

  3. SUPPORTING PATIENT-CENTERED CANCER CARE and health rehabilitation services

  4. SUPPORTING DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITY SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS to deliver and improve care

  5. BUILDING ON A LEGACY of impact in Chicago communities

Staff

shelley

Shelley A.
Davis

President and CEO

sdavis@colemanfoundation.org

jane-portrait

Jane
Clifford

Chief Financial Officer

jclifford@colemanfoundation.org

Rosa
Berardi

Senior Program Officer

rberardi@colemanfoundation.org

Clark
McCain

Senior Program Officer

cmccain@colemanfoundation.org

Lisa
Torres

Grants Manager

ltorres@colemanfoundation.org

fleming-portrait

Erin
Fleming

Executive Assistant/Office Manager

efleming@colemanfoundation.org

Michael W.
Hennessy

Past President & CEO

mhennessy@colemanfoundation.org

Our Board

Michael
Furlong

Chair

Esther
Barron

Director

Alison
Fitzgerald

Director

Daniel
Wanzenberg

Director